Warwick Machine Learning Reading Group

Our reading group usually takes place every Thursday at The Alan Turing Institute. The reading group is organized by Omer Deniz Akyildiz.

Forthcoming

30 January 2020, Thursday, at 3PM, TBA

The paper/topic: TBA


6 February 2020, Thursday, at 3PM, by Stavros Christopoulos

The paper/topic: TBA


13 February 2020, Thursday, at 3PM, by Virginia Aglietti

The paper/topic: TBA


Past reading groups

23 January 2020, Thursday, at 3PM, James Walsh.

The paper/topic: The Conjugate Gradient Method.

Cancelled.


16 January 2020, Thursday, at 3PM, Omer Deniz Akyildiz.

(Merged with Convex Optimization group this week, Reading material: Chapter 3, Convex Optimization, S. Boyd).


12 December 2019, Thursday, at 3PM, by Ayman Boustati.

The paper/topic: Nonlinear Multitask Learning with Deep GPs


5 December 2019, Thursday, at 3PM, by Ayman Boustati.

The paper/topic: Amortized Variance Reduction for Doubly Stochastic Objectives


21 November 2019, Thursday, at 3PM, by Kathryn Leeming.

The paper/topic: Forecasting traffic speeds in Bristol using time series methods


14 November 2019, Thursday, at 3PM, by Michael Smith.

The paper/topic: Gaussian Processes for Low cost Air Pollution monitoring in Kampala


7 November 2019, Thursday, at 3PM, Daniel J. Tait.

The paper/topic: Constrained Variational Inference


24 October 2019, Thursday, at 3PM, by Theo Damoulas.

The paper: Bayesian analysis of binary and polychotomous response data [pdf]


17 October 2019, Thursday, at 3PM, by Patrick O’Hara.

1st Convex Optimization Reading Group, the book: Convex Optimization, Stephen Boyd.


3 October 2019, Thursday, at 3PM, by Ollie Hamelijnck.

The paper: Variational Fourier Features for Gaussian Processes


25 September 2019, Wednesday, at 3PM, by Omer Deniz Akyildiz.

The paper: Convergence rates for optimised adaptive importance samplers


29 July 2019, Monday, at 4PM, by Daniel J. Tait.

The paper: The Statistical Finite Element Method (Paper reading)


22 July 2019, Monday, at 4PM, by Daniel J. Tait.

The paper: The Statistical Finite Element Method (Cont.)

Background: Introduction to PDEs (2)


15 July 2019, Monday, at 4PM, by Daniel J. Tait.

The paper: The Statistical Finite Element Method

Background: Introduction to PDEs


8 July 2019, Monday, at 4PM, by Omer Deniz Akyildiz.

The paper: Integral Transforms from Finite Data: An Application of Gaussian Process Regression to Fourier Analysis


1 April 2019, at 3PM, by Ollie Hamelijnck.

Papers

1) State-Space Inference and Learning with Gaussian Processes

2) Identification of Gaussian Process State Space Models


1-30 March 2019, by Omer Deniz Akyildiz.

The book: Bayesian Filtering and Smoothing, Chapters 2-5 and 8